Thank you for today, Lord {3-16}

Standard

 photo irishfiligree_zpsa5719743.jpgI was just sitting here at my desk worrying. {It’s what I do.}  It’s March 16th, which means we’re more than halfway through the month. I am part of a Crochet Along group, and every month we tackle a different project. This month, we’re making an Irish Filigree Necklace. It’s gorgeous… and as intimidating as a rabid dog with a rusty switchblade in a dark alley. I do chunky yarn things. This… this is not chunky. This is thread. {also, this is a stock image, what mine should look like in the end} Barely thicker than dental floss… and I really enjoy it. I’m still scared, and glad I am up to date on my tetanus shot… but it’s been a nice challenge. The other challenges I’m worrying with right now are

    • Tea party we’re throwing for my nieces and nephews just because we needed an excuse as adults to have a playful tea party we thought it would be fun for the kids. Each of my sisters and I have been given a task to prep for the party. The sister who went to culinary school was given snack duties {no-brainer}, the sister with older kids was given the responsibility of a dress up trunk {her daughter is 7, so she already has a good start}, and my youngest sister & I are going to be providing decorations {we’re the “make it pretty” type}. Again, I’m really excited, and really enjoy it… but it’s a challenge.

 photo _DSC0026_zpsf12165cf.jpg

  • Finishing the garage. My labor of love has become more labor than love… I really wish I had a day that Hubby Dearest & I could take off and do a major purge. I started doing a small purge on my own, and re-organizing things to suit me. Well, Hubby informed me the other day that I’ve moved things without telling him & now he doesn’t know where his things are. Which is true… but the channel lock pliers he was looking for so hard, were laying on the table in plain sight beside his toolbox. Just sayin’. There’s a lot to be moved from my room inside to my “new” room in the garage. Which brings me to my next challenge…
  • Baby stuff. We’re still toying with the idea of when to actually start trying for a second Little. The first Little is excited. I’m somewhat indifferent. {When God says “Here, have a baby” we’ll get it ready-or-not. Until then, why stress.}  And Hubby doesn’t know from one day to the next. But I intend to prepare as if we’ll have one by this time next year, and that means a lot of work between now and then.

I had to laugh at the things that are worrying me. My most immediate concern is a children’s tea party… I’m going to have to chalk this up to Awesome Life Problems. I don’t have to worry about my next meal, because it’s in the fridge. My worst health concern currently is worrying about the allergies that will hit when spring comes {yea, not allergies I have right now, but ones that will be here later} And while our finances have seen better days, we still have food, shelter, central heat & air, and Directv with DVR… which brings us to the title of this post.

Thank you for today, Lord.

I don’t know about anyone else, but I have a really bad habit of forgetting how good I really have it. I get so caught up in the “wants” of life that I overlook what I need. I cannot think of a single need God has not met for me and then some. My physical needs, spiritual needs, intellectual needs… Yes, I’ve become well aware that God likes to keep my brain on its toes {if brains had toes… } and He likes to see me succeed where I once failed. He has given me so much, and I deserve none of it.

Now that my worries are out well at ease, I will face my biggest challenge. Sleep. Goodnight, readers. Sleep well.

About fromlondonwithlove2011

In no particular order, I am a Christian, a wife, a mother, a lab rat, a poet, a gardener, a craft goddess-in-training, a daydreamer, a painter, a doodler, a bookworm, a some day entrepreneur, a rock star, a super hero, a fixer, a coffee enthusiast, a music lover, a beach dweller, a treadmill dreader, and a would-be tree-hugger. I love beautiful things, and sometimes have a really different take on what's beautiful. I have a wonderful (albeit stressful) life that I wouldn't trade for anything in the world. Some days I want to pull the covers over my head and stay indefinitely, but other days I want to jump up and find something amazing to see/ do/ make. I want to share the things I am passionate about with other passionate people. And so it begins...

3 responses »

  1. London, this post really hit home for me. I can tend to be a worrier, too, and I constantly need to remind myself that God is in control, He is to be trusted, and we were commanded not to worry! “Tomorrow has enough troubles of its own.” Sigh. Still workin’ on that, though. I have found that processing things through writing helps, so I trust that the act of writing this post was cathartic for you. I also appreciate you ending on a note of thankfulness. It’s hard to be worried when our hearts are full of gratitude, isn’t it?

    The tea party sounds like a ton of fun, and as I mentioned on my blog, I hope that the weather clears up, so you can get it rescheduled soon. Take tons of pics! I’m hoping you’ll do a post on it, so we can see how things turned out.

    Sending hugs from one-worrier-in-process to another,
    Lauren

    • Thanks for stopping by. I’ve been slacking a little with the actual posting of bloggy stuff, and replying, too. I have several “in the works” posts that have been keeping me distracted. It’s funny how that works. Before this post, I was distracted from writing at all. Then I got the worries off my chest & post ideas just started flooding me. I was listening to KLOVE on my way to work (you should check them out. Great praise music) and they were calling this “No Fear Friday”… I’m totally going to use that. Because, really all that holds us back is fear. The gears are turning already.
      Also, the tea party is going to be one BIG project in the sense that it will take care of lots of little projects. I have tutorials for decorations, a show-off for my new camera & photography editing stuff, a guest post by my sister (who doesn’t know it yet), plus we’re going to make photo books for the grandparents. I’m so super excited!
      Thanks again for stopping by! Love hearing from you!
      London

      • I totally know KLOVE. They’re great! “No Fear Friday” is a great idea; a wonderful reminder that we have nothing to fear in Christ.

        Glad to hear your gears are turning again. I think times of “distraction” or feeling stuck are totally normal. And better not to post just for the sake of posting, but post when you have actual quality content to share (which is sounds like you’re developing in droves for the tea party!). Can’t wait to see all of the tutorials and posts you have in the works. They sound inspiring indeed!

        Happy No Fear Friday!

Leave a little love

