Exploring Life With My Little

Standard

We took a nice stay-cation last week, and got a lot {almost} done around the house. I have some really great before & after photos of the craft room migration. {We’re not completely in the “after” stage, but enough that you can see the wreck that my garage was and the functional space it is becoming.}  I’m excited for the move from our someday-nursery. I am not excited for the major purge that needs to accompany this move… “Hi, my name is London… and I’m a hoarder.”

While on our stay-cation, we did take a day trip to the Tennessee Aquarium in Chattanooga. I got to use my new Nikon D-3000 {read the manual on the way there} and got some really incredible photos. I wanted to share the slideshow I put together for the grandparents. Smilebox is kinda awesome & this is the first time I’ve really played around with it.

Click to play this Smilebox slideshow
Create your own slideshow - Powered by Smilebox
Personalize a free slideshow design

We had a great day & the Little was very excited for most of it… however, without his usual post-lunch nap, he was “over it” by the time we reached the end. I was proud of him, though, for not turning into brat-zilla. I don’t recall a single meltdown that day.

I’m feeling a wave of blog posting coming soon to an internet near you… Lots of tiny, but blog-worthy projects wrapping up soon. I can’t wait to share them with you.

About fromlondonwithlove2011

In no particular order, I am a Christian, a wife, a mother, a lab rat, a poet, a gardener, a craft goddess-in-training, a daydreamer, a painter, a doodler, a bookworm, a some day entrepreneur, a rock star, a super hero, a fixer, a coffee enthusiast, a music lover, a beach dweller, a treadmill dreader, and a would-be tree-hugger. I love beautiful things, and sometimes have a really different take on what's beautiful. I have a wonderful (albeit stressful) life that I wouldn't trade for anything in the world. Some days I want to pull the covers over my head and stay indefinitely, but other days I want to jump up and find something amazing to see/ do/ make. I want to share the things I am passionate about with other passionate people. And so it begins...

5 responses »

  1. What a great slideshow! That photo of Braden and the turtle was too cute. Ha ha, and I just realized your name is LONDON! How cool is that? I guess I just thought you were using your blog name as a name…but you’ve named your blog for you! Wonderful!

    Thanks for your sweet comments on my blog. What an encourager you are!

    • Thank you! LOL I guess most people think London is a fake name… the baristas always look at me like “If you say so, honey.” Mom was reading Call of the Wild by Jack London, and tah-dah!
      As for the blog name, hubby and I had started a 007 marathon about the same time I started my blog. It started as a cute play on words & I decided it fits because I’m blogging about all of the things that I love, so it really is “From London, with love.”

      • Oooo…I loved hearing the stories of your birth name and blog name. They’re both so cool.

        My Mom said that when she named me Lauren, it was a “unique” name…and she really like Lauren Bacall and the model Lauren Hunt. (Apparently, everyone else had the same idea that year. Ha ha. Not so unique now.) And you may already know the story of my blog, but The Thinking Closet was an actual closet in the house of my childhood through age 7. It was a walk-in closet I transformed into my space for creating things. I’m an introvert through and through – – charged by my alone time (usually creating) and my husband is the opposite! So, we balance each other out.

        A 007 marathon sounds fun! My kinda marathon! (I always admire people who run marathons…but movie marathons are the only type of marathon I’m up for taking on! Ha ha.)

        Anyway, didn’t mean to write a novel. Your stories just inspired me to share mine!

        Thanks, London!

      • I loved the story of your Thinking Closet. I never named my places, but it was perfectly clear that they were MINE. We moved a lot growing up, so each house was an adventure. I have always been one to find nice, quiet hidey-holes for reading and writing. (The Tap Light people would’ve made a fortune off me.) I also left notes when we moved in hopes that someone else might be weird like me, and read in crawl spaces and closets. My room at my mom’s house now has a red Sharpie message above the inside of the closet door that says “This is a Special Place.” She found it a few years ago when she was storing a mirror in the top of the closet. 🙂
        One of my next projects is to build a reading/ creativity nook for Braden in his closet. I’m excited for it, but a little overwhelmed, too, because there are so many great ideas floating around. I also have a bad habit of biting off more than I can chew… so here’s hoping I can stay (somewhat) grounded in my endeavor.

      • Reading about your delight in leaving secret and surprise notes make me think of this idea that I pinned…perhaps you’ve seen it? Leaving a note or story on the inside of switch-plates. I’d love to do this before we leave our rental home. http://makeprojects.com/Project/Light-switch-time-capsule/445/1#.UTTUR1ojoqs

        I love the idea of leaving the note, “This is a special place,” and that your Mom found it years later! I think that if I came across that note somewhere, it’d change how I viewed that space…or treated it. Makes me want to write it everywhere I go now!

        And how fun that you want to create a reading/creativity nook! I want one! Ha ha. But seriously, I’m sure that will get a lot of great use. You’re right that there can be a lot of great ideas out there, but hopefully you can take what inspiration is most helpful and leave the rest…and I know you’ll create something AWESOME. A “special place” for sure.

Leave a little love

