Goodwill Goodies {and random painting}

Standard

0926121325Ahh, the Goodwill Store. It’s one of my favorite places. I love shopping secondhand because people get rid of the coolest stuff. And you can then buy that cool stuff for cheap. Who doesn’t like cheap? All of these goodies were bought for the awesome low price of $24.66.

This really fun painting is on a 2ft x 4ft canvas. Only 3.99! Hubby dearest doesn’t like it {abstract is not his cup of tea}so I will be painting over it with something a little more our pace. I’m thinking deep grey with movie quotes from some our favorite films.

0926121333

Now, this sweet little wooden sign was also 3.99 and I couldn’t pass it up. I can’t wait to get the porch ready for the holidays. Autumn is such a great time for warm, welcoming homes. That starts at the front door… and I have big plans for the coming weeks. If you remember my Count Your Blessings Wreath, I said I’m going to paint my door. I’m really in love with teal right now, so I grabbed a handful of teal-ish paint chips for hubby dearest to help me decide. He was not amused when my answer to “Is teal green or blue?” was “Yes.” But we looked at the colors, and decided on one called Bermuda. It has that rich blue-green that you see in the ocean getaway commercials. It was put on the back burner, though because of budget boo-boos {life insurance was due, and that trumps a can of paint} until… I tossed the paint chip on top of Miriam…. and they’re almost exactly the same color. My door is about to become Melon Rind!

Photobucket

The picture doesn’t do it justice, but this metal wall tile has seen some wear. Not just the faux distressed paint, either. The edges are chipped and dented, and there as a few scrapes here and there.

I love it! Only 1.99!

That  price tag gives me a little bit  more to play with when looking for flanking pieces. I love the flower in the center of the circle, so I  am searching for smaller somethings that will highlight that.

Photobucket

The birds. For whatever reason, I have always loved birds, and I am so flippin’ happy that they have made such a huge comeback in the last few years. I have little ceramic birds placed here and about. Bird houses. Prints. And a fabric print rooster that I just tacked to the wall a week ago… I need to find that picture. 1.99 each. The plate belonged to my great-grandpa {its mates are in my hutch awaiting a display stand }and the wire shelf was a dumpster find… so, free.


Photobucket

These sweet little pictures were .49 and .99 each. I had a vague notion of what I wanted them for, and so I happily parted with my $4. It was well worth it, too, because after finding homes for the other finds of the day, I set to work on making something for me!

At some point, I joined the “Keep Calm” bandwagon. I bought a stamp set from my local scrapbooking store with the options to Keep Calm and Sew/Paint/Draw/Craft/Carry On. So, I dug it out and set to make a “Keep Calm and Craft On” picture for the {still mostly blank} wall above the guest bed. The light blue jumped out at me in a sea of mostly neutral acrylic paints. I cut out the page from Webster’s with create and began doing just that. While the dictionary page was drying, I set my sights on the large, gold, framed geese. Not quite the look I had in mind. Take it apart, paint over the geese, and then the fun part… I read a blog not long ago on Posed Perfection where she traced an image in paint pen directly onto the glass of her frame, then put pretty paper behind her painting. Hers is much prettier than mine, but it’s the same concept. I used one of my great-grandmother’s embroidery patterns as my image. It’s a bird, of course.

0926121654-2

While that dried, I set to work on the two wooden blocks. I laughed because I hadn’t realized the “frames” of the blocks were already the same blue I had chosen for my oval pictures. Actually, I probably did without being consciously aware of it. Anyway, I remembered some sheet music fabric I recieved from a scrap swap.

Block + Mod Podge + Fabric = Sweet and Simple Old-to-New

0926121708-2

Random Painting. I really don’t know what else to call it since I just got the notion to paint some things I had lying around with some paint I had lying around. I bought a HOT PINKchalkboard at a yard sale. It was from their wedding… I’m sorry, but I would feel bad making hubby and his friends wear in your face pink just because I wanted it. That’s just me, though. My colors were lavender, eggplant, and cream.

Sorry, back to the frame. I’m getting a little better about taking before pictures. See, I remembered to take a picture about halfway through the first coat. Then, once the frame was drying. And once I got the chalkboard put back in.

0925121943 DSCN0669 Photobucket

I also randomly decided to make little pumpkins out of craft sticks. It was really cute… until my {five-year old}puppy decided to eat them. They were hot glued to the frame. He pulled them off and started chomping away. Luckily, I heard the crunching and took it away before he ate too much of it. It still irks me.

Photobucket

What goodies did you find? Or make? Or dream up?

Hope you found time for something you love.

If you’re looking for a little inspiration, I’m linking up at these lovely places. They’re always full of wonderful ideas.

See Vanessa Craft

creative corner hop< /a>< /div />

About fromlondonwithlove2011

In no particular order, I am a Christian, a wife, a mother, a lab rat, a poet, a gardener, a craft goddess-in-training, a daydreamer, a painter, a doodler, a bookworm, a some day entrepreneur, a rock star, a super hero, a fixer, a coffee enthusiast, a music lover, a beach dweller, a treadmill dreader, and a would-be tree-hugger. I love beautiful things, and sometimes have a really different take on what's beautiful. I have a wonderful (albeit stressful) life that I wouldn't trade for anything in the world. Some days I want to pull the covers over my head and stay indefinitely, but other days I want to jump up and find something amazing to see/ do/ make. I want to share the things I am passionate about with other passionate people. And so it begins...

Leave a little love

