Almost Free Dresser Re-do {Meet Miriam}

Standard

{Allow me to re-cap for those who don’t read along regularly.}

I was given a free dresser just a week or two ago. free.  I’ve been holding some paint for my little sister, and got the go-ahead to use it for myself. free. I also just purchased several packages of drawer pulls from the Habitat for Humanity ReStore for only $11 a set (10).See Vanessa Craft

I decided to make this dresser special. I wanted it to really POP!in my new or soon-to-be-new craft room. When in doubt, ask some friends. It really helps to have friends like Vanessa……                                                    {psst! —-→ }

Just sayin’. She’s the one who suggested aqua or something similar. Which reminded me of my sister’s “Melon Rind” paint that’s been hanging out in my garage since, like, June. I asked permission first, but I probably would’ve used it even if she said no.

Ladies and gentlemen…

Meet Miriam

0828121814 She was a little dirty, and a little frumpy in her modest, all white garb. So I took her in, and gave her a nice bath {Magic Eraser style }and a fresh, vibrant wardrobe change. I used an off-brand latex paint in Melon Rind. My sister bought it from a local paint shop that sells super cheap mis-tints and contractor leftovers. They’re my favorite new place for paint.

Anyway, you can see below the yucky first attempt at a drawer design. Always go with your first choice, just like when you were prepping for the ACT {or SAT if you weren’t like I was, and didn’t pick a “safe” school who didn’t look at SAT scores}This drawer is now awaiting my mom’s sander, and a mulligan.

0905122247

Here she is in all her glory.

0905122246 As soon as my other pictures upload, I’ll show a close up of the distressed corners and edges. It works really well in my newly painted craft room {oops, spoiler-alert. That post is in the works.}
DSCN0626 I love the thin stenciled lines on the drawers. Of all things to use as a stencil, a baby food lid and a piece of cardstock. I just needed something round & something straight… so that’s what I grabbed. Whatever works, right?

So what works for you? Do you have a fantastic re-do to show off? Maybe one that’s in the works? Do it! Love it! Share it!

I’m sharing here:

creative corner hop

See Vanessa Craft

About fromlondonwithlove2011

In no particular order, I am a Christian, a wife, a mother, a lab rat, a poet, a gardener, a craft goddess-in-training, a daydreamer, a painter, a doodler, a bookworm, a some day entrepreneur, a rock star, a super hero, a fixer, a coffee enthusiast, a music lover, a beach dweller, a treadmill dreader, and a would-be tree-hugger. I love beautiful things, and sometimes have a really different take on what's beautiful. I have a wonderful (albeit stressful) life that I wouldn't trade for anything in the world. Some days I want to pull the covers over my head and stay indefinitely, but other days I want to jump up and find something amazing to see/ do/ make. I want to share the things I am passionate about with other passionate people. And so it begins...

4 responses »

    • Thanks! Also, I don’t remember which post it was, but you had a copy of “no other gods” in one of the pictures. I bought one for myself and one for my sister. I love it! It has been an eye opener to some nagging feelings I’ve had lately. So glad God lets us share His will even without knowing we’re doing it.

  1. Pingback: Goodwill Goodies {and random painting} « fromlondonwithlove2011

  2. Yay! Thanks for being the first person to indulge me in my request for a “Once upon a time.” You had me so intrigued, I just HAD to click over to read your post to hear what happens next! And I must say, it was worth it. Your finished product turned out fabulously…and I can hardly believe the pricetag: the cost of a few drawer pulls. That’s my kinda d.i.y.

    Thanks for the invitation over here to your lovely blog. Love your writing style!

    Warmly,
    Lauren

Leave a little love

