It’s about to get really crafty in here

Standard

Sweet hubby and I stumbled upon a financial boo boo dilemma road block this week, and so I am putting us on a very strict budget. Because of said budget, I am challenging myself to be extra cheap crafty with my projects. While I always try to get a good deal on my supplies, I am also an impulse buyer. I could probably shop around and find a similar {fill in the blank}  I have a tendency to buy cute things when I see them and not take the time to price check. Now, in addition to my “never buy if you can make it for less” philosophy I am setting new rules for my craftiness:

  1. For the next 6 months, I will only START a new project if it is free. That means really free & not “the bookshelf was free, but I need x,y,z to redo it.” Free.
  2. For projects already in the works, I will only buy supplies if I have a coupon or the item is at least 50% off.
  3. I WILL follow my priority list in my journal. There are a million-and-two things around that house that I want to do… I already have a list of things that are “time sensitive” for lack of a better phrase.
  4. I will FINISH two projects for every one I decide to start. I can’t even get a work surface cleared in my room because I keep adding crafts without finishing them.

That’s it for now, as far as rules go.

Now, on to the fun stuff…

Bragging…

I recieved a picture on my phone the other day with the caption “Want it?” Well, it just so happened to be a white wooden 5-drawer dresser. free. All I had to do was go get it. And so, get it I did.

0828121814

I apologize for the grainy cell phone picture, but it’s what I’ve got. {random side note: the shelf behind and to the left has a redo of its own coming soon. stay tuned}

The plan for her… I think I will call her Miriam… The plan for Miriam is to go into my craft room and perform double duty. The top two drawers will be for guests {after all, my craft room is technically still a guest room}  and the bottom three drawers will hold “sewing clutter.” One of my goals for the room is to have as little visible clutter as possible. But back to Miriam, I asked my good friends for color advice since I have a strong pull toward browns and greys and wanted some color! When aqua was suggested, I nearly leaped leapt jumped out of my chair {also getting a makeover soon}  because I’m holding a can of “Melon Rind” paint for my sister who, at present, has no home to paint.

“Nik, can I use your Melon paint?” “Sure. Whatcha painting?” “That dresser you gave me.” “Yes!!!!”

So now I have a free dresser, free paint, and some antique {looking}  drawer pulls ($11 at the Habitat for Humanity ReStore). I’m planning some fun touches for this little girl! Probably my favorite is lining the drawers with decoupage book pages.

Look for more updates soon!
Photobucket

About fromlondonwithlove2011

In no particular order, I am a Christian, a wife, a mother, a lab rat, a poet, a gardener, a craft goddess-in-training, a daydreamer, a painter, a doodler, a bookworm, a some day entrepreneur, a rock star, a super hero, a fixer, a coffee enthusiast, a music lover, a beach dweller, a treadmill dreader, and a would-be tree-hugger. I love beautiful things, and sometimes have a really different take on what's beautiful. I have a wonderful (albeit stressful) life that I wouldn't trade for anything in the world. Some days I want to pull the covers over my head and stay indefinitely, but other days I want to jump up and find something amazing to see/ do/ make. I want to share the things I am passionate about with other passionate people. And so it begins...

3 responses »

  1. How very fun! I love free stuff…especially when it’s something that will be a fun project. Thanks for stopping by Posed Perfection today and leaving me a sweet comment about the Modern Botanical Bloom Print. I hope you’ll visit again soon. Have a great week!
    Blessings,
    Nici

  2. Pingback: Getting Crafty on a Spiritual Level.. « melonpopzdropz …

Leave a little love

