My First {Make A Splash} Challenge: Stencils

Standard

July 7th

I just got my email from Steph over at Crafting in the Rain. This month’s challenge:

PhotobucketI got really excited, and already made a detailed project list { complete with a very rough little sketch that I will spare you } even though I’m probably a week or two from the project itself. Here’s what I’ll be using:

  • Count Your Blessing stencil (made in Word & cut from cardstock)
  • Willow wreath (cut from my own willow tree and made by me earlier this year)
  • Wooden slat (from a broken chair I found on the side of the road)
  • Hemp (already had from an earlier project)
  • Bronze #s (Goodwill find from earlier craft)
  • Fabric/felt flowers (inspiration here)
  • Hot glue
  • Paint

If I stick to the plan, I will not have to pay for this project. I already have everything I need. Granted, some things were paid for “at one time” but they’re old enough that I don’t think their cost is something worth factoring in. That’s all I’ve got for now. Next time, I should have pictures. { yay!! }

August 17

Had a productive few days off work, and managed to put a few pieces together. I glued the copper/bronze numbers to my wreath. Each number got a light smear of paint so it would stand out a little more from the willow. I dipped the tip of my finger in white(ish) paint and smeared it on. }

0818120007a

I also got the sign made. The turkey is extra special because of the effort {and craft-cheating} that went into it. Long story short, my Little is a teeny bit OCD and had a meltdown over me putting paint on his hand. I had to cheat improvise for the feathers.

0815122113

And now for the stencil… since that is what this challenge was about. Count Your Blessings. Thanks to my friends Word and Exact-o, I was able to make my own stencil at zero cost to me! And, really, who isn’t proud of themselves for getting something for nothing? I tied the two wooden pieces from the highway chair using hemp, and “Got my paint on!”  I didn’t take a close-up, but it has its flaws like bleeding under the edge of the stencil, but oh well. I like it.

0818120007

August 22

And here we are… is everyone as excited as I am for the finished product? haha This is the type of project where you don’t actually care if anyone else loves it or even likes it, because you feel such a sense of accomplishment. Anyway, here you go!

0822121529

This is the second wreath that has made me wish my front door was different… or at least a different color. Something must be done! }

See Vanessa Craft

About fromlondonwithlove2011

In no particular order, I am a Christian, a wife, a mother, a lab rat, a poet, a gardener, a craft goddess-in-training, a daydreamer, a painter, a doodler, a bookworm, a some day entrepreneur, a rock star, a super hero, a fixer, a coffee enthusiast, a music lover, a beach dweller, a treadmill dreader, and a would-be tree-hugger. I love beautiful things, and sometimes have a really different take on what's beautiful. I have a wonderful (albeit stressful) life that I wouldn't trade for anything in the world. Some days I want to pull the covers over my head and stay indefinitely, but other days I want to jump up and find something amazing to see/ do/ make. I want to share the things I am passionate about with other passionate people. And so it begins...

4 responses »

  1. Pingback: Goodwill Goodies {and random painting} « fromlondonwithlove2011

Leave a little love

