Owl mobile

Standard

I don’t like to brag, but… oh, wait! I love to brag. I really enjoy my work, and I enjoy it even more when I know the people who I’m giving it to -or in rare cases selling {business is a little slow} – enjoy it as well. When my niece was born, I made her a stuffed owl. She’s been in the hospital this entire time with heart and lung problems {roughly 8 weeks} and her owl has never left her side. It apparently sparked a trend, and all of our relatives have been buying her clothes, blankets, bows, etc. with cute little owls. I talked to my sister-in-law yesterday, and she said she was looking for an owl mobile. “Why don’t I make you one? I have more fabric than I know what to do with.” She loved the idea {and I love that she actually likes the things I make} So I sat down to find a pattern and get started.

This is what I came up with. It came from a blog called Duckling Pond. Unfortunately, the image would not get any larger. Open Paint. Copy + Paste. Enlarge. Print. I didn’t bother with all the little details, just the main body and the wings. I cut the pattern out of cardstock since I plan on using it several times. I’m making four owls for the mobile, Yellow, Pink, Blue, and Purple.

I traced the body onto the backs of my fabric with a pen. I know they make pens for marking on fabric, but whatever. It’s on the inside, so a ballpoint is just fine with me. Be sure to flip you pattern over so you have a front piece and a back piece that line up. Four fronts and four backs. With the wings, I am testing and idea. Instead of just cutting out the wing as seen in my pattern, I wanted it to be double-sided. I traced the “scalloped” edge then flipped the pattern over and traced it again. The result is a kind of spade shape that will fold in half to make the wing shape. {I have no idea if that makes sense to anyone but me.}

I’m going to cut small circles from the same fabric as the wings to be the background for the eyes. The eyes will be made from small white buttons {although one set looks kinda green-ish}.

Hopefully, I will be back soon to reveal the finished owls and write up the rest of my somewhat-tutorial.

Photobucket

Well, that took slightly longer than I had anticipated.

0610120911Little-bitty wings make for great big time consumers. Once I finally got all four owls complete, I spent the longest time trying to figure out what to use for the mobile structure. I discovered, while pulling weeds in my flowerbed, that dead cedar is amazingly smooth. I snapped off two small-ish branches, drilled a 1/8 inch hole in the centers and on each end, and threaded the lace through each hole.

{ Side note: I will be finding more uses for cedar branches. I really like the way they look. }


It took a little playing around to fins the right balance so that one owl didn’t pull the branch too far one way, etc. I also added a little green tag with Joee’s name stamped on it.

So without further ado, here is the completed owl mobile. I’m contemplating making some for the shop, but I just don’t know, yet.

0619120734

I love the way it turned out, and I’ve already taken it to the hospital and hung it above her bed. Hopefully, she’s only a few more weeks before she can finally go home. I left enough ribbon attached so we can hang it from the ceiling in her room at home, too.
See Vanessa Craft

About fromlondonwithlove2011

In no particular order, I am a Christian, a wife, a mother, a lab rat, a poet, a gardener, a craft goddess-in-training, a daydreamer, a painter, a doodler, a bookworm, a some day entrepreneur, a rock star, a super hero, a fixer, a coffee enthusiast, a music lover, a beach dweller, a treadmill dreader, and a would-be tree-hugger. I love beautiful things, and sometimes have a really different take on what's beautiful. I have a wonderful (albeit stressful) life that I wouldn't trade for anything in the world. Some days I want to pull the covers over my head and stay indefinitely, but other days I want to jump up and find something amazing to see/ do/ make. I want to share the things I am passionate about with other passionate people. And so it begins...

2 responses »

Leave a little love

