T-shirt Re-do {Fixing a hole} with tutorial

Standard

I’m a pretty simple shopper. I wear jeans and t-shirt {or some variation } 6 days out of the week. My t-shirt assortment consists of a handful of “cool” graphic tees and about 20+ solid colored, jersey knit, crew cuts from Kohl’s. They’re soft. They’re cheap. And I don’t have to spend much time thinking about which one to wear { although grey and brown seem to be my “go-to” choices } I like them all. In fact, I really love them… so it makes me sad when I go to put one on and find THIS

Photobucket The only thing worse than a hole in a shirt you love is an ill-placed hole in a shirt you love. This particular hole is right smack-dab on my boob. Front and center. No distracting from it. So, my cheap crafty self decided not to let an otherwise good shirt end up a stuffed animal. { hooray for re-purposing } Enter Hobby Lobby clearance rack yo-yo rosettes. 86 fabric rosettes for $4.67, umm yes, please. Throw in some buttons, and you can manage a pretty awesome { if I do say so } camouflage to hide that pesky nick.
0616121425

I’m thinking of stitching some vine/leaf things in the gaps, but this is it for now.

Yo-yo Rosette Tutorial

 I wanted to share this super easy way to make these yo-yo’s. Apparently, I’ve been doing it almost the right way, but this new way gives prettier, more finished results.

Photobucket

Cut fa0616121554bric into circles of desired size (finished rosette is roughly half the diameter of the original circle)

Press edges toward center (Crease is approx. 1/4 inch from cut edge) – I’m impatient and skipped this step.0616121623

With a double threaded needle, use a gather stitch around the edge of the circle.

After a full circle, pull the thread tight to gather the edges into something that looks remarkably similar to your finished project.0616121641

Secure the gathered center to the “back ” of the yo-yo with a simple stitch.

Embellish & Enjoy

About fromlondonwithlove2011

In no particular order, I am a Christian, a wife, a mother, a lab rat, a poet, a gardener, a craft goddess-in-training, a daydreamer, a painter, a doodler, a bookworm, a some day entrepreneur, a rock star, a super hero, a fixer, a coffee enthusiast, a music lover, a beach dweller, a treadmill dreader, and a would-be tree-hugger. I love beautiful things, and sometimes have a really different take on what's beautiful. I have a wonderful (albeit stressful) life that I wouldn't trade for anything in the world. Some days I want to pull the covers over my head and stay indefinitely, but other days I want to jump up and find something amazing to see/ do/ make. I want to share the things I am passionate about with other passionate people. And so it begins...

One response »

Leave a little love

