Craft room Makeover {Part One}

Standard

PhotobucketAs I said previously, my craft room needs some love… among other things. Here are some before pictures to give everyone a clearer picture of what it is I’m dealing with. As of right now, the area pictured below is my “work space” and I have tried very hard to limit my things to this area. The end result being that everything is piled (more or less) in one area, and it ceases to function as it was intended… eh-hemm, not a lot of work gets done in this work space. It’s kind of sad really, because I have lots of things to be working on, and I had such high hopes for this space when I first moved my things here. BUT! I have a plan! It’s a very good plan if I do say so myself, and I do. I have to start with cleaning – by far my least favorite thing to do- which is why the other side of the room was not photographed, yet. Once the room is clean, I’ll move everything into the center and paint the walls. I picked a color from Glidden called French Mustard. The name kinda gives it away, but it’s a yellowish-brown {or brownish-yellow, I haven’t decided}. It’s going to look great with my other, nature inspired colors – Tierra Brown and Loose Leaf (green). Since I feel the most inspired by nature, it only makes sense to create a warm, natural working environment. My vision -because I don’t know what else to call it- is a field, overgrown with grasses and wildflowers, the feeling of cool dirt under bare feet, and the warmth of summer on your shoulders. I want a place to escape while I do all of these projects I enjoy so much.

Sorry. Focus.

0528122203Once the painting is done, I’m going to install {or rather help my mom install} a continuous floating work table along the three wall pictured. I’m still unsure of where the table will end on the longest wall (the one with Marilyn) but it will go at least to the window. Oh, the window didn’t make it into that last picture. Well, as I update on my progress, I’ll get that in there. Because of the height, I think I’m going to stop at the frame of the window. I’ve seen desks that come across the window, but mine isn’t floor-to-ceiling. I don’t think it would look right. Instead, I’m probably going to move my reading area from my bedroom {it was a good idea, but I’m bad with dimmensions} up to the corner beside the window. I have big plans for the chair, but I’m forcing myself to paint the room before I paint the chair. Yes, I’m painting my upholstered wingback chair. I saw some fabric spray paint, and I am determined to paint my chair versus recovering it. I’m not completely sure on the color, but I’m thinking a light tan or camel color. I also need a suggestion as to where I should move Ms. Monroe. I can’t very well get rid of her, she’s been an idol of mine for as long as I can remember. She’s soley responsible for my platinum phase through high school. It’s just that I’m going to need all the storage I can get… and she’s hanging in the middle of prime wall space. {Oh, and my husband spent more money than I cared to ask about to get her for me.}

Anyway, the space issue. I’ve got a friend who is practically giving away sheets of pegboard {$1 for a 4’x6′ piece, umm yes, please}. So I will paint it my mustard color and add this cool stencil -color yet unknown- from the csi project and hang all of my goodies on peg hooks and baskets. I’m also contemplating the use of that stencil for some pillows on the previously mentioned chair. I don’t want the room to get too busy, and I know I want to use it for my pegboard. Of everything, the pegboard probably has me the most excited. I was completely blown away at the massive amount of accessories available for pegboards. Seriously, if you need organizing solutions, you should check this stuff out. Google “craftroom pegboards” and prepare to have your mind blown. There were so many great ideas, and the best part (for me, at least) is they don’t take up room on your work surface. I also have some wooden shelves to hang {probably on the far wall that didn’t make it into the pictures} where I plan to display my collection of assorted trinkets, conversation pieces, and other whatnots. I’m planning to bring in some of my science background, especially after seeing how well it turned out for The Scientific Seamstress. I sat and absorbed SO many of her details and concepts. And I’m in a better position to get (free) glassware and other neat pieces of multi-functional science thingys {it’s a technical term}.

I’m just so in love with the idea of making this space, this catch-all, into something that’s mine and anyone who walks in will know that it’s a piece of me. Know that I poured myself into a room where I will be pouring myself into the work I love. I suppose since I have moved past the point of laying out my plans, and on to the point where I just gush about how wonderful it’s going to be… I should probably wrap things up. Can’t wait to get things in gear and post some progress. Until then, do what you love… and check out some inspiration from See Vanessa Craft

About fromlondonwithlove2011

In no particular order, I am a Christian, a wife, a mother, a lab rat, a poet, a gardener, a craft goddess-in-training, a daydreamer, a painter, a doodler, a bookworm, a some day entrepreneur, a rock star, a super hero, a fixer, a coffee enthusiast, a music lover, a beach dweller, a treadmill dreader, and a would-be tree-hugger. I love beautiful things, and sometimes have a really different take on what's beautiful. I have a wonderful (albeit stressful) life that I wouldn't trade for anything in the world. Some days I want to pull the covers over my head and stay indefinitely, but other days I want to jump up and find something amazing to see/ do/ make. I want to share the things I am passionate about with other passionate people. And so it begins...

One response »

  1. Pingback: DIY Bookcase Makeover - ilovelivecreate

Leave a little love

