Day 1 (yesterday) & Day 2

Standard

Even though I won’t get to do the half marathon like I wanted, I am still putting forth an effort to get ready for more races. Here are my day-to-day goals, followed by some that I’m working up to.

  • One coke a day. I’ve been really bad about drinking three, sometimes four cokes in a day. And no water for days at a time. I’m a caffeine junkie. Always have been, and my kidneys hate me on a regular basis. Which leads to the next goal…
  • Switch to decaf coffee. It will be a cold day in… the south before I give up my coffee. Period. But I already drink decaf at home, so all that’s left is ordering decaf when I’m out.
  • Drink more water. I’m going to start out with 2 bottles of water a day, and go from there. Only allowing myself one coke should help.
  • Walk at least 15 minutes everyday. I am never so busy that I can’t spare 15 minutes of 24 hours at some point during the day.
  • Easy on the salt. This will be the hardest for me. Probably harder than caffeine. I.like.salt. Given a choice, I will pick a salty snack 98% of the time. If I have sweets, I want something salty with it.
  • Eat a better breakfast (or just EAT breakfast for starters). Most days, I have coffee for breakfast. Days like today, I had coffee and a warm apple fritter… Carbs are why London wears a one-piece. As I get into running, my tastes will changes & I’ll crave proteins, but right now I could live on breads.

I think that’s all for daily goals… Oh, add a multivitamin to that. For long(er) term goals, I’m still a little vague.

  • Run (not walk) a 5k. I’m very proud of myself for completing a 5k, but I know I can do better if I try. My goal was to get through it, and I did. Now it’s time to step it up.
  • Complete a 15k. I’m realistic, and know I can’t run an entire 9 mile circuit. At least not yet. But if I keep up my training, I can at least get through it.
  • For God’s sake, tone up! At 25, my arms shouldn’t keep waving after I’ve stopped. I need some all-over attention, and in a hurry.
  • DO all those projects around the house. My mind stays cluttered with all the things that need to be done, and it’s easy to do nothing (literally, I sit and space out) when there’s so much to do. Tackle something, and then keep going. Bonus points* because most of the To-Do’s involve physical labor.

Now for my progress. I meant to sit down last night and write this out, but it just didn’t happen.

Day 1, June 1

I had a good breakfast, Multigrain Cheerios, and got dressed in something I could work out in. Dug out my toning Reebok‘s. And went to work. Lunch was a little blah I had a Coke and some sour cream & onion chips. I talked to my sister-in-law about her little girl (she’s 7 weeks old and just had open heart surgery). I needed to clear my head, so I went to the gym & ran for 15 minutes then tanned for 10. It helped, but I’m still bogged down worrying for my niece. Overall, it was a good first day to start trying to make changes.

Day 2, June 2

I slept like a baby last night… up every hour. My little guy is teething and his allergies are bothering him. It was midnight before I got to bed, and he was up at 12:30. Then again at 1:45, 2:30, 2:45, 3:30, and 4:00. I finally thought to give him some tylenol, and we fell asleep in his toddler bed with him laying on top of me in a bear-hug. I woke up at 6:30, cussing a little bit because I need to leave the house at 6:30 to get to work by 8. Decided, since I was already late, to go to my sister’s for coffee. Got more coffee, and that apple fritter, now I’m here at work. I’m trying to motivate myself to get my work done so I can go run… You can see how well that’s working out. I’ll update later with my progress from the day.

About fromlondonwithlove2011

In no particular order, I am a Christian, a wife, a mother, a lab rat, a poet, a gardener, a craft goddess-in-training, a daydreamer, a painter, a doodler, a bookworm, a some day entrepreneur, a rock star, a super hero, a fixer, a coffee enthusiast, a music lover, a beach dweller, a treadmill dreader, and a would-be tree-hugger. I love beautiful things, and sometimes have a really different take on what's beautiful. I have a wonderful (albeit stressful) life that I wouldn't trade for anything in the world. Some days I want to pull the covers over my head and stay indefinitely, but other days I want to jump up and find something amazing to see/ do/ make. I want to share the things I am passionate about with other passionate people. And so it begins...

Leave a little love

