Half Marathon {Dear Lord, what am I getting into?!}

Standard

At the end of March, I ran my very first 5k and it was the most amazing experience. It was made that much better because I had my best friend right beside me (for the first half) to tell me how sad I am for letting senior citizens pass me. Yea, Dustin is awesome like that. When we hit the halfway mark, I released him from his “good friend” duties and he took off at his own (much faster) pace. I finished in 51:44, and for my first 5k and no real training, I was just glad to make it across the finish line. I’m hooked. I want to do more. (I want to actually train this time, too.)

The Murfreesboro Half Marathon is in October. 20 weeks from now. I want to do it. Logic, however, dictates that I should be able to run a 5k before trying to just complete a half-marathon. So here’s my plan…

I will do the Couch to 5k Challenge (6 week program, I think) and then keep adding to my distance until I reach that 13.1 miles. I have 20 weeks to build the kind of endurance I need. My biggest challenge is going to be actually training. There were so many days while preparing for my 5k that I just didn’t feel like it, and my laziness won out. I need help staying accountable & it sucks that my time is so thinly stretched already.

Well, that was short-lived.

Between last night when I started this post, and right now when I sat down to finish it up, I realized a few issues with my plan.

  • Registration started today and I can’t justify paying for a race when there are still bills in my basket.
  • Last year’s race sold out in 11 days… I will still have bills in my basket 11 days from now.
  • Most of the training tutorials I found (strongly) suggested 4 to 6 months of running experience before attempting a half marathon.
  • I’m a fair-weather runner, and today’s weather is borderline gross.

Okay, so the last one is just and excuse, but the others are completely valid. I guess I will do the 5k training anyway, and register for the next one. I can build up my experience until I feel more comfortable, and then move up to 15k, and save the half marathon for an “eventually” goal. No, not eventually. Soon. Eventually gives me too much time to slack off. I will run next year’s Middle Half.

About fromlondonwithlove2011

In no particular order, I am a Christian, a wife, a mother, a lab rat, a poet, a gardener, a craft goddess-in-training, a daydreamer, a painter, a doodler, a bookworm, a some day entrepreneur, a rock star, a super hero, a fixer, a coffee enthusiast, a music lover, a beach dweller, a treadmill dreader, and a would-be tree-hugger. I love beautiful things, and sometimes have a really different take on what's beautiful. I have a wonderful (albeit stressful) life that I wouldn't trade for anything in the world. Some days I want to pull the covers over my head and stay indefinitely, but other days I want to jump up and find something amazing to see/ do/ make. I want to share the things I am passionate about with other passionate people. And so it begins...

Leave a little love

