Craft Room Envy

Standard

My craft room needs love… and storage… and a real work area.

Silly me thought I would search around for inspiration… What I found: several you-should-be-jealous rooms. Not only am I in love with the amount of space some of these ladies have, but the sheer volume of their supplies makes me feel like a mega n00b.

I mean, really?! Look at this stuff!

InMyOwnStyle.com

doodle-head.com

Reality Check

After tearing myself away from the Ooh’s and Ahh’s of the massive rooms, I found several spaces similar to my own, awkward, little room. Some of these ladies have done a great deal of work to make what they have as functional as possible.

This is what I need to focus my energy on.

TheInspiredRoom.net

I have this same type of slanted ceiling in my room, and have had a hard time finding shelving that would make use of the space. I really like the pegboard idea (and have a friend who can give me some. free= win) and could paint it any color I wanted. I’m also in love with glass jars… and may or may not have a banker’s box full of saved baby food jars because “I’m sure I’ll find something I can use them for.”

noelle-paperandice.blogspot.com

Now this is an idea I love! I’m thinking of putting a wire shelving unit around my little corner, and I have a LOT of cardstock. She has her bags organized by event (one for Birthday themes, Halloween, Christmas, etc.) I can do that, plus have a place for solids, stripes, etc. And it doesn’t take up a work surface… which is crucial for my limited area. This next one is also a great way to make a multi-purpose space (it will also save me many trips up and down the stairs with the ironing board going to and from our laundry room).

tallgrassprairiestudio.blogspot.com

Let’s see what else I can… Oooh!!!!!

diylife.com
My mom could help me install something like this! While I’m crafty, she’s Handy. I’ve learned the difference through renovation trial and error. This looks simple enough, though. I may even get ambitious and carry the table one wall further than I had planned so I can do something pretty around my window. Hmmm… the ideas are churning now.

Ideas like floating tables… along 3 of the 9 walls in my room… and some way to create this kind of warmth in my space. Right now, it’s just so… contractor grade. I definitely don’t see the kind of “character” I had hoped for when we were house hunting. I kinda hate the puzzle-piece feel our upstairs has. Cubbie-type spaces next to closets, dormer windows, more cubbie-type spaces to make room for the landing at the top of the stairs… I wish I could share my current look of disgust at the mere thought of all my awkward angles. Alas, I digress. It took me years to come to terms with my own awkwardness, so I shouldn’t expect myself to fully embrace this space in the 3 years we’ve lived in our home… especially since my craft room was just a catch-all for the first two years. A makeover is exactly what my room needs to feel Charmingly Awkward (thank you Dave Smallen for my favoritest adjective combo of all time).

Anyway, I need ideas to make my space MINE and thanks to my ever-growing obsession with trying bold projects, I think I can handle it. Here’s a drawing I did in Paint earlier of how I want the room laid out.
It’s not to scale, but you see why I call it an awkward puzzle piece. So many things in this house make me wish ill thoughts toward the contractor…. but that’s a rant of another nature.

Focus.

I’ve decided on Glidden – French Mustard for the walls. The bed (since this room doubles as a guest bedroom) has a pine colored quilt that I love and a few burlap throw pillows with deep pink and coral flowers. I’m thinking of keeping everything a natural wood stain, maybe honey colored. Then I’ll accent with chocolate & coral, light touches of green here and there. I have a cedar hope chest at the foot of the bed that I’m trying to decide should I recover or maybe just stencil onto the burlap that’s already on it (even though it’s a little worn and dirty). If I decide to get rid of my current desk… I could add another work table along the far left wall & set up my computer there… Oh, decisions, decisions.

I’ve written myself a reminder to take some “before” pictures of the room (once I finish the transition from winter clothes to summer clothes, because both are currently piled up and stuffed in bags). Provided no unexpected expenses crop up, I should get to paint in 2 weeks. This also assumes I have the room clean enough to move the furniture to the center… Oh well, one thing at a time. I’m excited! See… This is me being excited!

About fromlondonwithlove2011

In no particular order, I am a Christian, a wife, a mother, a lab rat, a poet, a gardener, a craft goddess-in-training, a daydreamer, a painter, a doodler, a bookworm, a some day entrepreneur, a rock star, a super hero, a fixer, a coffee enthusiast, a music lover, a beach dweller, a treadmill dreader, and a would-be tree-hugger. I love beautiful things, and sometimes have a really different take on what's beautiful. I have a wonderful (albeit stressful) life that I wouldn't trade for anything in the world. Some days I want to pull the covers over my head and stay indefinitely, but other days I want to jump up and find something amazing to see/ do/ make. I want to share the things I am passionate about with other passionate people. And so it begins...

Leave a little love

