Unexpected Soapbox

Standard

 There are too many people looking for an easy way out. For like the first week of the Occupy movement, I was really hoping it would amount to something because I agreed with their view on big business not being held to the same standards as the rest of America. Unfortunately, it took a desperate turn for the worst shortly after. Forgive student loan debt? That would be awesome as I’ve got $60k of it myself, but I knew when I signed the Promissory Note that every dollar I took would have to be paid back (and then some). I gave my word that I would accept responsibility for my actions. In this case, it happened to be in writing. People’s word doesn’t seem to be worth much anymore, and I think it’s because so few people have any intention of taking responsibility… for anything. The system is so abused that it can’t even run as it should anymore. Just because times are hard doesn’t mean that you should throw in the towel and expect someone else to take care of it.

My great-grandparents (who I was lucky enough to actually know) survived the Great Depression. My grandmother was the youngest child on a cotton farm at the time. THAT was hardship. I wish she could’ve seen the Occupy movement & heard her opinion of it. I’m sure she would have had lots of… colorful things to say. There was a time when hardship and trials meant that you did what you had to do to survive… camping in the city with your ipad doesn’t quite compare. And even the people who weren’t part of the protest but consider themselves “the 99%” need to take a look at what they have and quit b!tching about what they think they’re entitled to. We were taught to earn our keep. There were no handouts in our house. You were expected to pull your weight, and you didn’t get an allowance for it either. Why should you get paid for something you’re supposed to be doing in the first place? Besides, there was just enough money to cover the family’s needs… you’d be taking away from that. We were taught priorities. Yes, a new kickball would be nice, but for $0.50 we could go to the gas station and air up the one we already had. That $2.00 saved would buy two school lunches.

It’s about priorities and responsibility. Do your job. I use the term “job” but it can take many shapes for many people. I am blessed with employment that provides pay and benefits, but I see my “job” as providing for my family. My husband and I work very hard to provide food, shelter, clothing, and a few comforts where we can. My son will learn, just as I did, that you have a responsibility to yourself and others to be a worthwhile individual. That responsibility has been lost on many, but it is no less necessary now that in the years of my great-grandmother’s childhood.

About fromlondonwithlove2011

In no particular order, I am a Christian, a wife, a mother, a lab rat, a poet, a gardener, a craft goddess-in-training, a daydreamer, a painter, a doodler, a bookworm, a some day entrepreneur, a rock star, a super hero, a fixer, a coffee enthusiast, a music lover, a beach dweller, a treadmill dreader, and a would-be tree-hugger. I love beautiful things, and sometimes have a really different take on what's beautiful. I have a wonderful (albeit stressful) life that I wouldn't trade for anything in the world. Some days I want to pull the covers over my head and stay indefinitely, but other days I want to jump up and find something amazing to see/ do/ make. I want to share the things I am passionate about with other passionate people. And so it begins...

Leave a little love

